top of page

In Memory of my Friend Paul Weber

He came to my life when I was nineteen,

A man of intelligence,

Full of insight and selfless to the core.

I was drawn to him like a moth to a flame,

He taught me many things,

But service I cherish the most.

He served all, never asked why and for what reason,

It was not his style to wait around for a “thank you”,

He never wanted to be known.

He served people he did not know, total strangers he liked the most,

Making others happy was his mission in life,

People’s joy made him cheerful like an innocent boy.

He was a Sufi even before he entered the path,

The path gave him a better opportunity to serve,

He was ever grateful to be in a position to serve.

My father loved him and admired his steadfastness,

I just loved him. He was the gentlest soul I came to know.

He will be sorely missed.

He touched so many lives and continued until his last breath,

The last time I saw him he told me not to worry,

He will deal with all the worldly problems,

Alas, he shot the moon with all my hearts.

Alireza Nurbakhsh

28 February 2016


bottom of page